Trails

WB-13 Kilmardinny House

Kilmardinny House is a Grade A Listed building and was formerly a privately owned Georgian Mansion House.
In 1730 it was owned by the Rev. Andrew Gray, Parish Minister of the New Kilpatrick Church. Later in 1800, a West India Merchant named John Leith, purchased Kilmardinny building a new front onto the existing building; the Georgian façade we see today. Further alterations were made to its original design by its subsequent owner, Robert Dalgleish, a Calico Printer. The last private owner of Kilmardinny House was Sir John McDonald, a builder in Glasgow. After his death the Town Council acquired the house from his Trustees in 1965. They developed it into an Arts Centre, which it remains as today.
The iconic building recently underwent a 2.73 million refurbishment project and has now reopened, extending its remit to provide a home for events such as conferences, weddings and community group meetings. The addition of a garden pavilion area now serves as a venue to accommodate any number of events.

References
Kilmardinny: A story of a house and its Owners — Milngavie and Bearsden Historical Society


Next Tale on the Trail: Roman Road

Back to Westerton & Bearsden Trail page

[WB-025]

Map

Trails