BA-17 Cawder Golf Course

Cadder Golf Course

The club occupies the beautiful landscaped estate which formerly belonged to the Stirlings of Cadder. The club house is the original mansion of the estate and dates from 1624 but its public rooms were redesigned by the architect David Hamilton in about 1810 with magnificent plaster ceilings and marble fireplaces. The Stirling connection goes back to the 12th century and the estate is crossed twice by the roman Antonine Wall while a roman legionary stone may be seen in the clubhouse. This stone was presented to the Stirling family by the mathematician, John Napier on his marriage into the Stiring family.The club was founded in 1933 with the first captain being Max Aitken, son of Lord Beaverbrook. In 1934 the Cawder course was designed by James Braid, 5 times Open winner and famed golf course architect. Quite soon another course was needed and the Keir, also by Braid, opened in 1937. The club survived wartime problems including a fire caused by soldiers billeted in the house and a nearby bomb which caused damage to windows. It continues to offer a rewarding golfing experience to members and visitors.

Carol Primrose, East Dunbartonshire Heritage & History Forum

Next Tale on the Trail: Cadder

Back to Cadder & Mavis Valley Trail page